The Book of Sawce: Prologue

My friends already know, but for those who wander upon this–I have an English degree.  I didn’t get it out of some desire to be a teacher (I really, REALLY don’t).  I decided to get an English degree because I love reading (not the best decision one can make).  Or at least, I used to.  See, the rough thing about being an English major is it kinda kills your desire to read for fun.  I used to devour books, but since declaring my major and earning that degree, I haven’t read too many actual books.  Sure, I’ve knocked out comics by the scores (possibly even the hundreds), but not many books.  If I’m not mistaken, I only read seven books in 2014.  If 20-year-old me knew that, he’d be an even more disappointed person than he already was.

Anyhoo, I came across this 2015 reading challenge on tumblr, and it excited me.  I don’t know why a list suddenly reignited the passion for reading in me, but it did.  So, I’m going to follow this list and read at least 50 books this year.  I also intend to do a little blog post about each one so that I’ll write more.

Fifty books versus one man.  One very intimidated man.

Fifty books versus one man. One very intimidated man.

Up first, a book with 500+ pages.  What will it be?  Stay tuned to find out.

(Some folks already know, but whatevs.)

Leave a comment