The Book of Sawce, Chapter 1 – A Book with More Than 500 Pages

“A book with more than 500 pages,” you say? HA! I’ll double that!

Finally knocked out the first book in that ol’ reading challenge I’ve decided to take on.  Probably should’ve gone with something that barely broke 500 instead of going with one that broke 1000, though.  Oh well.

The first book I read was A Dance with Dragons, book five in George R. R, Martin’s highly popular A Song of Ice and Fire series.  I went with this one because it’s been on my “to-read” list almost since I got back from China last June, but I’d never mustered up the courage to open it.  See, one does not simply read a book from ASOIAF–oh no.  You gotta prepare yourself for that journey, for it is a long and perilous one.  Once you get into it, though, you wonder why you dreaded it so much in the first place.  Anyhoo, how do I feel about this book?

Obviously, I love it, but not as much as I’d hoped.  I won’t go into too many details since I do want people to read this post, and I don’t want to spoil anything for them.  So, I can’t talk about which characters this book follows because in this series knowing who lives is more of a spoiler than knowing who dies.  Now, although I said that, I am going to talk about the point of view character that brought this book down for me because they’ve done so in every book they’ve been in and you can tell they’re in the book thanks to the title:  Daenerys.

I like Dany.  I really, really do.  When you look at it, you’d think her story would be the most interesting out of all the different characters.  It’s just…her chapters are so hard to get through.  I hate whenever a good string of POV characters is brought to a halt by seeing the word “Daenerys” at the top of the page.  I wish I knew what it is about her sections that I find so difficult.  I’m not entirely sure if it’s her or her supporting cast that I find dull, but it might be her since one of her crew gets their own POV chapters later on in the book, and I thoroughly enjoyed those.  On the bright side, by book’s end it seems as though Dany’s story is finally picking up.  Hopefully.

I think that’s another problem I had with this book:  It’s pretty much a lot of build up.  Sure, plenty of important things happen as they are wont to do in ASOIAF, but nothing really major occurs.  No execution on the steps, no gruesome weddings, no big battles…just a lot of build up to similar things that are likely to happen in the next one.  And by golly I can’t wait for that next book.

So yeah, I certainly enjoyed my return to Westeros and the Free Cities and Slaver’s Bay, but it’s not my favorite book in the series.  I’m not entirely sure which one is or if I even have a favorite, but whatevs.  Next up on the reading challenge is a classic romance.  What will it be?  Stay tuned to find out.

Leave a Reply

