The Book of Sawce, Chapter 9 – A Book by a Female Author

Chugga-stabba-choo-choo

Chugga-stabba-choo-choo

Women can write?  Who knew!  Jay-kay, everyone.  Just felt like pretending to be a jerk there for a bit.  But yeah, it’s a been a while, eh?  It’s not that it took me a long time to read this, I just…didn’t.  Every time I thought about getting back to the reading challenge, there was a comic that needed reading or a movie that needed watching.  Then I bought Rocket League, and that just put an end to anything resembling productive.  So, without further ado, let’s get into the book by a female author I chose to read:  Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie.

Orient Express deals with Christie’s most famous character, Hercule Poirot.  Here, Poirot is on his way back from Istanbul to London via the oddly crowded Orient Express when the American Mr. Ratchett approaches the detective on the train saying his life is in danger.  Not liking the cut of his jib, Poirot refuses to protect the man.  Shortly after midnight on the second night of their journey, the train is stuck due to a snowdrift.  The following morning, Mr. Ratchett is found dead.  Poirot is then convinced to investigate the case and find out which of the passengers–if any–did the deed.

First off, I love mysteries.  Case Closed is an anime I can sit there and watch without caring about how much time passes, and I have the complete collection of Sherlock Holmes stories sitting unread on my shelf (I really need to get to those).  So, I picked up Orient Express expecting to read it for the next book in the reading challenge, but–like with Ready Player One–I couldn’t wait anymore, so I moved things around.  This was my first experience with Hercule Poirot.  I gotta say…I like the guy.  I’m sure I didn’t read him with the right voice (John Hurt was speaking in my mind), but I liked the little mustachioed detective.  He struck me as a far nicer individual than Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s famous sleuth.

This book is an astonishingly easy read.  Again, this was my first foray into Christie’s body of work, so I had no idea what to expect going in, but I was done with it quick whenever I sat down to actually read it.  There isn’t really any fluff.  I’m not saying the book is lacking in details, but it doesn’t waste its time painting an overly elaborate picture.  It’s also good at subtly telling you everything you need to know whether you realize it or not.  Christie presents you with all of the evidence so that you can solve the mystery right along with Poirot.  Still, though, I didn’t see the solution until it was laid out on the pages in Poirot’s speech.  Definitely kept me guessing until the very end.

In case you can’t tell, I enjoyed this book quite a lot.  Poirot is a fun protagonist to follow, and Christie’s style is informative but not too drawn out.  I’m fully convinced to look into more of her works–especially now that I know they won’t take me that long to read.  That’s all for this installment, though.  Next up for the reading challenge is a mystery or thriller.  What will it be?  Stay tuned to find out.

Leave a Reply

