Listmas 2013: Ten Books That Have Stuck with Me

First things first–this list is for December 24th.  I missed posting it then because I was involved in what was basically a 24 hour Christmas hang-out/dinner.  I think I might be done with countdowns since the only things left for me to do are damn near impossible for me to arrange in a top ten or five or whatever.  Also, this is kind of cheating since I’ve done this list somewhere else, but here we go anyway!

1) Broken Sky by Chris Wooding

Image

This one is a bit of cheat since I’m counting the whole series, but it’s a kids series, so I’m good, right?  I thought about putting Deltora Quest here since those were the books that got me into reading back in third grade, but this series has heavily inspired my creative mind even to this day.  I read them again a couple years ago, and I still love this series.  It’s surprisingly dark and has some fascinating characters.

2) The Cleric Quintet by R.A. Salvatore

Image

Another cheat!  Technically a five book series, but I read them in one huge tome, so I’m counting ’em!  This was my introduction to Salvatore, the Forgotten Realms, and D&D in general.

3) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas

Image

I love tales of revenge (Batman is my favorite superhero, after all), and this is the big man on campus for that genre.  If you’re a fan of the book, then do yourself a favor and check out the anime Gankutsuou.  It didn’t make my top ten anime, but it’s definitely in my top 20.

4) The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

Image

“The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.”  I get chills just thinking about that opening line.

5) Star Wars: Heir to the Empire  by Timothy Zahn

Image

This wasn’t my first Star Wars book (that was the first in the Legacy of the Force series), but it’s definitely the one that got me interested in the rest of the Expanded Universe.  This feels exactly like a Star Wars movie.  Also, Grand Admiral Thrawn has to be one of my favorite villains in any form of fiction.

6) The Pendragon Adventure: The Merchant of Death by D.J. MacHale

Image

When I was in seventh grade, I got sick enough so that I had to stay home for a couple days, but my mom got me this book to help pass the time.  The whole series means a lot to me just because of how long it took me to read it (I think the last book didn’t come out until my second or third year of college).  Bobby Pendragon and his attempts to save Halla make for some good reading.  And, like with Heir to the Empire, this gave me one of my favorite villains–Saint Dane.

7) Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

Image

I’m not entirely sure why I picked this over Nix’s Abhorsen.  I think it’s because whenever I’m trying to come up with ideas for all the worlds I’ve created, I remember how I felt when I read this for first time.  It was thrilling and kept me excited from page to page.  The world, the characters, and the story will probably never leave me.

8) The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester

Image

Something else I have to thank http://murfvs.net/ for.  This was really my introduction to reading science fiction, and whenever I recall this book, I hate myself for not reading more.

9) Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Image

From about first grade to my senior year of high school, I read this once a year.  Stevenson is one of my favorite authors, and this hands down my most favorite of his books.  I even plan on buying a children’s copy of it in Mandarin for translation practice!

10) Zaregoto: The Kubikiri Cycle by Nisio Isin

Image

This was my introduction to reading mystery stories, and it still might be my favorite.  This was also my introduction to Japanese light novels.  Nisio Isin constantly surprises me with his original characters, great dialogue, and out-there plots.  Ii-kun is one main character that I love to hate and hate to love.  Try liking him completely after reading the second Zaregoto book.  I don’t think you can.

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: Listmas 2013: The Listmas List | United We Game

  2. Pingback: Relistmas Comes Early: My 2013 Listmas, Relisted #Listmas2014 | Murf Versus

Leave a Reply

