Listmas 2013: Top 10 Anime

Aside from the number one spot, this list was quite difficult to put together.

10) Kuroko no Basuke

The brighter the light, the darker the shadow.

The brighter the light, the darker the shadow.

One of the fascinating things about anime and manga is that they make sports look awesome…to me.  I’m that type of nerd that detests any physical activity and doesn’t like any sport (except for pro wrestling, MMA, and soccer), yet I somehow get a lot of enjoyment out of sports anime and manga.  Anyway, this is obviously a basketball anime, and even though its second season is still airing, I’m pretty comfortable with placing this in my top ten.  It’s just so awesome.  Always love when the natural genius versus hard work fight comes up, and that’s a central theme in Kuroko.

9) Clannad/Clannad: After Story

There is an incalculable amount of feels in this pic.

There is an incalculable amount of feels in this pic.

So, I’ll go ahead and admit that fictional works can definitely make me cry.  I get emotionally invested in characters pretty easily.  That’s why the feels-fest known as Clannad hit me so hard, and why its second season, After Story, put me out of commission for a couple hours.  If there’s one thing Key knows how to do, it’s dragging tears of their victims.

8) Trigun

One of the greatest bromances in all of anime.

One of the greatest bromances in all of anime.

I acknowledge Cowboy Bebop as an undisputed classic, but when it comes to the space westerns, Trigun is my favorite, hands down.  Vash the Stampede is such a well-written and complex character, one wouldn’t think to find him in an anime set on the planet Gunsmoke.  Also, Wolfwood.  Gotta love Wolfwood.  And the Gung-Ho-Guns have some of the coolest monikers in all of anime.

7) Mobile Suit Gundam Wing

Two best Gundams ever?  Maybe.

Two best Gundams ever? Maybe.

Like many others, this is how I popped my Gundam cherry, and it’s still my favorite.  Most of my favorite Gundams come from this series, most of my favorite mobile suits come from this series, and most of my favorite Gundam pilots come from this series.  The fact that it got better when I finally watched it again at age 20 or so just cemented it that much deeper in heart.

6) Monogatari Series

Most of them want his grundel, and my favorite of the bunch is the one that doesn't.

Most of them want his grundel, and my favorite of the bunch is the one that doesn’t.

I was introduced to the works of Nisio Isin through the first two Zaregoto novels that were translated and released in the US (bee-tee-dubs, I need the rest of those now).  Those two books made me in an instant fan of his, so of course I was going to check out the adaptation of his light novel Bakemonogatari.  I loved it, and then Nisemonogatari came out.  I loved it, too.  Then the Nekomonagatari: Kuro OVAs came out, and I loved those.  And I am currently loving the soon-to-end Monogatari Series: Second Season (although shouldn’t it be the third?).  The characters, the plots, the animation, and dat dialogue all mix to make one hell of an anime.  Also, Sawashiro Miyuki voices my favorite character, Kanbaru Suruga, so that’s just icing on the cake.

5) D.Gray-Man

So underrated.

So underrated.

Know what I hate?  The D.Gray-Man anime ended with the manga still on-going.  Know what I hate more?  Only the anime’s first half got released stateside.  Both of those need to be rectified soon.  I thought it was going to be a typical supernatural shounen series, but oh boy, I was wrong.  It’s still quite shounen, but the atmosphere and strong characters make this anime stand out.  It also has one of my favorite beat-downs on a main protagonist in any form of fiction.

4) Steins;Gate

The great HOUOUIN KYOUMA...and friends.

The great HOUOUIN KYOUMA…and friends.

Raise your hand if you thought Steins;Gate would be heralded as a modern classic.  Just so you know, my hand is not raised.  I watched and was underwhelmed by Chaos;Head when it first aired, so I wasn’t looking forward to its spiritual successor.  Thankfully, I gave it a shot anyway.  Never would’ve guessed that a phone capable of sending texts to the past could cause so much greatness.  And before we move on:  EL PSY CONGROO.

3) Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Look at all those bosses.

Look at all those bosses.

I stayed away from this one for a while because I knew it would dominate my life for a few days…and it did.  Once I started watching it, I couldn’t stop until that last episode was finished.  Except for sleep.  I had to sleep for some reason.  Sleep just ruins all the fun.

2) Katekyo Hitman Reborn!

Yep...the mafia.

Yep…the mafia.

The mafia never looked so good, eh?  A lot of people write this series off thanks to how it begins, and I don’t blame them.  Random comedy is good, but not when it’s nonstop.  That’s exactly what the first 20 or so episodes of Reborn are.  Stick around and go past that 20, however, and you’re in for an epic shounen anime full of great fights, awesome powers, and memorable characters.

1) Hajime no Ippo

Just...just go watch it.

Just…just go watch it.

All that stuff I said for the earlier entries about feels, characters, fights, plots, and whatnot just gets multiplied here.  Go.  Go watch it now!  Please do yourself a favor and watch it.  You won’t regret it.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Listmas 2013: The Listmas List | United We Game

Leave a Reply

