Listmas 2013: Top 10 Professional Wrestlers

I want to preface this list by saying I don’t get to watch near as much professional wrestling as I want to, so there aren’t any of the Japanese big-guns on here like Kazuchika Okada, Prince Devitt, Hiroshi Tanashai, etc.  Although I do love what extremely little of Japanese wrestling I’ve seen, I just don’t have the nets to watch much of it.  Also, this list was really hard to make because there aren’t many wrestlers I don’t like, and the amount of talent in the industry today is simply ridiculous.

10) Dolph Ziggler

NEVER FORGET.

NEVER FORGET.

I’m happy to say I’ve been on the Dolph Ziggler bandwagon pretty much since I started watching wrestling again.  He instantly became one of my favorites and has remained so to this day.  I do hate seeing all the random crap he gets put through, but hey, when the Show Off gets in the ring, it’s bound to be a good match.

9) Michael Elgin

The Unbreakable.

The Unbreakable.

This guy cannot possibly be human.  He throws grown-ass men around like they’re action figures.  When I first saw Elgin wrestle, I thought he was going to be some card-filler.  Boy, was I wrong.  I became a believer that night.  Can’t wait to see this man become a World Champion.

8) CM Punk

I miss evil Jesus Punk.

I miss evil Jesus Punk.

Face or heel, I’ve always loved CM Punk.  The man makes everything work.  I know a lot of people got pretty tired of his year-plus reign as WWE Champion, but I was always invested in his storylines and title defenses (except for Ryback).

7) Antonio Cesaro

Very European.

I wonder who he’s about to eff up.

This guy is another one of those wrestlers who can’t possibly be human.  There’s a reason one of his nicknames is “The Swiss Superman.”

6) Austin Aries

He really just might be The Greatest Man That Ever Lived.

He really just might be The Greatest Man That Ever Lived.

With pretty much everyone on this list, I know about when I became a fan of their work.  For A Double, though…I’m not really sure.  I just know that for as long as I’ve known who Austin Aries is, I’ve liked him.

5) Akira Tozawa

This man is pretty much the only reason I want to follow Dragon Gate.

This man is pretty much the only reason I want to follow Dragon Gate.

Like it says in the caption, Akira Tozawa is almost the sole reason I like Dragon Gate.  Don’t get me wrong, I think their roster in both Japan and America is stacked, but this guy singlehandedly made me a fan of DG that WrestleMania weekend in Atlanta.  He’s like a hyper little ball of awesomeness.

4) AJ Styles

I do hope I get to see the Phenomenal World Champion again.

I do hope I get to see the Phenomenal World Champion again.

I got back into wrestling in 2007 because I heard Sting was in TNA, but unfortunately it was during one of his breaks from the company, so I decided to turn the TV off.  Thankfully, I waited a little bit longer.  That night, I was introduced to two wrestlers who were able to keep me glued to the telly, and I have been a fan since then.  AJ Styles is one of those two men.  The man’s name says it all–“Phenomenal.”  I really can’t believe TNA let him go.

3) Daniel Bryan

They can call him Goat Face all they want, but to me, he'll always be the American Dragon.

They can call him Goat Face all they want, but to me, he’ll always be the American Dragon.

I’ll admit, I didn’t believe in Daniel Bryan when I first saw him on NXT.  I bought into the bland loser talk, but after he returned to fight the Nexus…I believed.  If it wasn’t for Bryan, WWE would be so much less enjoyable.

2) El Generico…or Sami Zayn

THE reason I got into independent wrestling.

THE reason I got into independent wrestling.

My first independent wrestling DVD was Ring of Honor’s “Unscripted.”  Although I enjoyed it, it didn’t really wow me like I thought it would.  My second indy wrestling DVD, though, was ROH’s “Death Before Dishonor VIII.”  It starts, and I’m expecting a tag team match.  But this guy comes out instead, and demands a match with his then-enemy Kevin Steen.  That match made me a fan of independent professional wrestling.  The whole event was awesome, but I then looked into the entire Generico/Steen feud, and holy hell…it was epic.  I love Kevin Steen, too, but there’s just something special about Generico.  It’s too bad he retired to go back to Mexico and look after his orphans….

As one of his fans, I guess we're called "Zayniacs."

As one of his fans, I guess we’re called “Zayniacs.”

Thankfully, though, not long after Generico retired, this guy called Sami Zayn showed up on NXT, and their styles are pretty similar.  If Zayn is on an episode of NXT, get prepared for one of the best matches you’ll ever see.

1) Christopher Daniels

No, he's never been TNA World Champion, but dammit, he should be!

No, he’s never been TNA World Champion, but dammit, he should be!

The second of the two wrestlers who made me a fan of wrestling again–Christopher Daniels.  This guy is just too cool.  I really don’t know what else to say to justify he’s my number one.  I just know he is.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Listmas 2013: The Listmas List | United We Game

Leave a Reply

