Listmas 2013: Top 10 Video Games

10) Chrono Trigger

Greatness incarnate.

Greatness incarnate.

Talk about late to the show!  I didn’t play this game till 2012, but I am so very glad I did.  Dat soundtrack, dat Akira Toriyama art, dat story, and dat soundtrack.  Nothing could have prepared me for the greatness I was about to experience that summer day when I finally turned on my 3DS to give this a go.  It is my favorite non-strategy, non-action RPG.  Honestly, I’m sitting here fascinated that there are nine games I like more than Chrono Trigger!

9) Uncharted 2: Among Theives

This may or may not be from the second one...it's been a while.

This may or may not be from the second one…it’s been a while.

I’m not gonna say I got a PS3 just to play the Uncharted series (I honestly didn’t), but I did kiss my PS3 after completing Uncharted 2.  Everything about this game just felt right when I played it.  Gone was the weird grenade-throwing mechanic from the first one, gone were the random Spanish super zombies, and gone was Elena (at least for a little while) so we could listen to that heavenly Chloe Frazer.  There’s really nothing else I can say about Uncharted 2 other than that it made me a die hard believer in Naughty Dog.

8) Disgaea: Hour of Darkness

When they renamed him Mid-Boss is pretty much when I knew I loved Disgaea.

When they renamed him Mid-Boss is pretty much when I knew I loved Disgaea.

Got my brother from another mother, http://murfvs.net/, to thank for this one.  He loaned it to me one day because I guess he wasn’t enjoying it that much, and he eventually let me keep it!  It was great getting to hear those words.  This is, without a doubt, the funniest game I’ve ever played.  It also made me get interested in RPGs outside of the action genre.  Before this, I only had the .hack games and Kingdom Hearts 1, but I now have Disgaea 1-4, Makai Kingdom, Ni no Kuni, Chrono Trigger, etc.  Disgaea opened gaming doors for me, and I will always love those kooky Netherworlders for it.

7) Luigi’s Mansion

Look at him...he's so brave to protect us from the ghosts.

Look at him…he’s so brave to protect us from the ghosts.

I woke up on the day the GameCube came out to find it and Luigi’s Mansion sitting on the kitchen table, so yes, nostalgia might play a significant part in why this game is in my top ten.  But honestly, I can’t think of another game that made me feel like this one did.  See, I don’t like horror stuff, so the first Luigi’s Mansion had just enough atmosphere to give me the willies and the laughs.  I love thinking about how I figured out how to beat one of the bosses by accidentally looking on the back of the case.  Remember how I said I didn’t get a PS3 just for the Uncharted games?  Well, I got a 3DS just for Luigi’s Mansion 2.  I kid you not.  The sequel didn’t live up to the first one, in my opinion, but I will always cherish those days the superior plumber and I unhaunted that mansion.

6) Pokemon Silver

'Bout to get yo' butt whooped, Pikachu.

‘Bout to get yo’ butt whooped, Pikachu.

Are the Pokemon games formulaic?  Obviously, so that might be why none ever captured my love like Silver did.  I own Red, Silver (duh), Ruby, Leaf Green, Pearl, SoulSilver, White, and X (even though I haven’t gotten to play it yet), so I’ve been there for each generation.  To this day, Silver is the only game in which I raised any level 100s (I only raised four), and I teared up when I found out one of my friends erased my data.  I’ll never forget those adventures with my first Totodile.

5) Jet Set Radio Future

My main man, Soda!

My main man, Soda!

By far, this is the most played game on my Xbox.  I am the reason one of my friends will cite this as one of his favorites because he owned it and never played it until I rolled up in his house one day.  I love the way this game looks, and the soundtrack is kick-ass (except for one really annoying song).  Other than a couple spots where controlling felt really weird, I love the way the game handles, too.  I’m actually sitting here wishing I had it with me because I never unlocked all the additional characters.  Someday, my precious.  Someday….

4) Batman: Arkham City

Not my OTP, but close enough.

Not my OTP, but close enough.

If there’s one thing every one of my visitors will know when they leave, it’s that I love Batman.  I’ve loved Batman since before I can even remember (some of my earliest memories involve knowing I’d watched my Batman movies numerous times).  So, it should be no surprise that the first game I got when I bought my 360 was Arkham Asylum.  Asylum was everything I wanted it to be and more.  For the first time in my then 19 years on this planet, I was Batman.  Thus, when Arkham City came out and not only matched its predecessor in every way, but also surpassed it…I had to buy a new pair of pants.  In all seriousness, Batman is one of those things I will always turn to when times get rough, so it helps knowing that no matter whatever might come my way, I’ve got Arkham City there ready to go.

3) .hack

There should be epic music playing in your head right about now.

There should be epic music playing in your head right about now.

I’m not going to pick one game from the series since they’re basically a big four-part game.  The first .hack series is probably why I love video games as much as I do.  It’s hard to explain.  I’ve always like video games, but the .hack franchise is what made me first experience the grander world gaming has to offer.  Before .hack//Infection, I pretty much only had fighting games and platformers (guess what two genres are represented at the top of this list!), so, much like Disgaea long after it, .hack opened a huge door for me.  Weird to think that I originally got this game just because of the anime it came with.  I will always be thankful that one of my childhood friends said, “You have a game.  Why not play it?”

2) Tekken 3

Hwoarang doing what he does best--kicking fools' heads in.

Hwoarang doing what he does best–kicking fools’ heads in.

I am by no means good at fighting games.  In fact, I daresay I suck at them.  I will get bodied, call for salty runbacks, and get bodied even harder like nobody’s business.  I’ll be damned if anyone tries to take away my Tekken cred, though.  I am good at Tekken, and it’s all because I’ve been playing the series since this beautiful third installment.  I first played it on my cousin’s PS1, and I knew then that I would someday own it.  The Tekken series has been with me since then, but it’s never again reached the spirit 3 had (although 5 got damn close).  It’s one of the few PS1 games I still go back and play every now and then.

1) Donkey Kong 64

Cranky, take it to the fridge!

Cranky, take it to the fridge!

I said .hack is the reason I love games, and it’s true.  But this…this is why I even game at all.  This game is the sole reason I want to replace my N64’s missing parts.  I just want to play this game again and again.  I love the cast, the levels, the bosses, the humor, the powers, the everything!  It is downright criminal there has never been another DK game like Donkey Kong 64.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Listmas 2013: The Listmas List | United We Game

Leave a Reply

